The Museums at Oglebay


The Mansion Museum

Elegant and educational, the 1846 Mansion Museum was the former estate of Cleveland industrialist Earl W. Oglebay, who purchased the mansion and surrounding acres to use as a summer home. Upon his death in 1926, the millionaire willed his spectacular country estate to the City of Wheeling.

Featuring a dozen period rooms focusing on Wheeling s earliest settlement through the opulent Edwardian era, guests will be delighted to discover impressive collections of American furniture, china, silver, glass, pewter, toys and textiles.

The Mansion Museum was the first museum in West Virginia to be accredited by the American Association of Museums and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.

Annual events at the Mansion include the winter Festival of Lights celebration, when the mansion is elegantly dressed for the holidays and the Park takes on a yuletide glow .

The Museums of Oglebay Institute also host the annual Spring Antiques Show & Sale, held the first full weekend of April, which benefits the museums and offers antiques lovers a chance to shop & browse .

The Museums of Oglebay Institute accommodate the mobility and visually impaired.


The Glass Museum

Located in the lower level of Carriage House Glass, the glass museum features more than 3,000 examples of Wheeling glass made from 1829-1939, the glass museum displays cut lead crystal, Victorian art glass, Peach blow glass, pattern and depression glass, Northwood’s carnival glass and many other glass examples showcasing Ohio Valley history.

See live glassworking demonstrations and make your own paperweight in one of our Walk-In Workshops.


One of the highlights of the museum is the largest piece of cut lead crystal ever made, The Sweeney Punch Bowl. Standing five-feet tall and weighing 225 pounds, this crystal treasure is world famous – a remarkable piece of Victorian artistry.

The Museums of Oglebay Institute accommodate the mobility and visually impaired.


About the Oglebay Institute

Oglebay Institute was formed in 1930 when a group of like-minded citizens, armed with the vision and the philanthropy of the Oglebay family, came together to “contribute to the joy of living” by creating cultural, education and recreational programming in the city’s newly acquired Oglebay Park.

Since that time the Institute has grown to include six facilities throughout Wheeling – The Mansion Museum, The Glass Museum, The Stifel Fine Arts Center, Towngate Theatre and Cinema, The Schrader Environmental Education Center and the School of Dance – and offers hundreds of community and school programs in the city, county, region and state. These institute-sponsored programs annually give entertainment and instruction in the arts, history and nature to more than 120,000 people of all ages.

For complete information and hours or for more information about the museums of Oglebay Institute, please call 304-242-7272 or visit

Oglebay Institute